Fixed: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

For all E-MU DAS Devices, including the 0404 PCI/PCIe, 1212M, PCI/PCIe 1616(M) CardBus/PCI/PCIe, 1820(M) and also Patchmix & E-MU PFX

Moderators: jc, Moderator

shonky
Forum Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Brighton
Contact:

Fixed: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by shonky » Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:10 am

Hi guys and gals, hope you can help me out with my current problem.

I've recently upgraded my PC, the last running Emulator X2 and Logic 5.5 Platinum with increasing difficulty over the last few years, and thought I'd switch to Ableton and Windows 7 64 bit, having a bit of luck in finding a download of Emulator X3 for £34 being the final icing of the cake.

The new system has 8Gb of DDR3 RAM and an AMD Quadcore processor, with a PCIe graphics card but I'm wondering whether I might have made an error in not researching the motherboard (I relied on advice from the guy in the shop who admittedly is not knowledgeable on music production although generally seems well-informed on computing in general). The motherboard is an ASRock FM2A68M-HD+ which allowed me a PCI slot to relocate my old Emu 1010 + 0202 combo but which I now believe might be responsible for the difficulties I've been having.

I fitted the card, downloaded the latest drivers for the card and the patchmix (not at that PC at the moment but appear to be the Beta versions of 2011/2012 mentioned elsewhere here) but got no sound, although a signal could be seen in patchmix when music or video was playing. There also seems to be nothing showing up when signal is present at the line input. I wondered initially whether the soundcard itself was damaged, although it was working in my old machine only two days ago, but it also appears that no signal is present (input or output) using the onboard sound either, which makes me wonder whether the motherboard is at fault.

What I've tried so far (to no effect):

Turned off the "new hardware" wizard in Windows and deleted downloaded Creative files in case of conflicts
Made changes in the BIOS to switch off the onboard sound
Set the sound in windows to use Emu as the default sound device
Matched the sample rate in windows to that in patchmix (44.1kHz and 48kHz)
Uninstalled patchmix and the drivers, removed 1010, rebooted Windows to clear hardware, replace 1010 and reinstalled drivers and patchmix (virgin reinstall)

Things I've yet to try (and not overly sure whether they'd make much difference):

Installing drivers prior to installing sound card after virgin reinstall
Deactivating unnecessary devices in mainboard BIOS or device manager (not knowledgeable enough to know exactly what's "unnecessary").
Deleting channel strips and creating new ones in patchmix (even though the signal generally shows on the meters)
Determine whether the PCI is native or bridged (as these apparently cause issues if they share the same "lane" with PCIe devices).
Trying the EMUPMX_L6_2_10_00 patchmix and driver downloads (although, as I say, the signal still shows in the meters)
Firmware update (although from experience these just fix glitches rather than actually making the device work)

I'd appreciate any help that's forthcoming, and can get more detail tomorrow after work regarding specs (and hopefully an IRQ list) and am grateful for the help that's already been given on this site but I'm rather running out of ideas as to how to fix this. I will contact the shop too as it's under warranty but not sure whether he'll have the breadth of knowledge as my fellow producers.
Last edited by shonky on Fri Mar 13, 2015 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jc
Site Admin
Posts: 4667
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 2:34 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by jc » Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:26 am

hold tight master jamail should be online later and should be able to give you some advice.
Follow Production Forums on Twitter
Like our Facebook page & follow the conversations.

User avatar
TwoRox
Forum Genius
Forum Genius
Posts: 4364
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:13 am
Skype Handle: david.sundancer
Location: 3rd Sun from the TwoRocks
Contact:

Re: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by TwoRox » Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:22 am

A few pointers from "humble me" until our resident "uber expert in all things E-MU audio interfaces", JMail, gets his internet connection back:
shonky wrote:The motherboard is an ASRock FM2A68M-HD+ which allowed me a PCI slot to relocate my old Emu 1010 + 0202 combo but which I now believe might be responsible for the difficulties I've been having.
I recently upgraded to a new DAW with an Asus H87-Pro motherboard which also has one remaining PCI slot, which is why I bought it, so I could "plunk" my 1212m PCI in there. 8)

Did a standard Win7-64 install, pooped... sorry... :lol: popped in both cards, did a routine driver install (latest beta et cetera), hooked up me ole Mackie MR5 monitors... and blew the roof off my rental apartment cuz I had forgotten that a default patchmix install always sets levels to -0dB! :shock: (I'm still apologizing to my neighbors... :lol: )

In other words: worked like a charm,without a hitch. :thumbsup

You may very well be on to something suspecting the AsRock mobo.

As far as my experience with DAWs goes, I found that a combination of Asus + Intel + nVidia pretty much puts you on the safe side.

Change one part of the equation, and everything can go "kablooey" pretty quickly. AMD CPUs? Nope. Not that they are bad, per se, nope. Just in the context of DAWs, there seem to be some architectural differences that simply spell trouble for DAW usage. Same for AMD graphics... whenever people turned to me, asking for advice regarding the troubles they had with setting up their DAW, in 9 out of 10 cases where the graphics chips and/or drivers turned out to be the culprit, those were AMD graphics cards and drivers. I got nothing against AMD. Just a simple observation, stemming from years of experience.

And finally, re. motherboards: while things are not quite as clear-cut as with CPUs and graphics chips/drivers, and lots of people have had great success with, say, Gigabyte mobos (while others reported nightmare experiences with the very same mobo), the reports of troubles with Asus mobos are few and far in between...

So if you can still return the mobo (and CPU et cetera), my advice would be to go the Asus + Intel route. nVidia only, if you need the "extra power" of a dedicated graphics card for doing stuff like color grading on film projects. For plain ole DAW usage, the integrated graphics of Intel's current quad core generation are more than sufficient.

User avatar
TwoRox
Forum Genius
Forum Genius
Posts: 4364
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:13 am
Skype Handle: david.sundancer
Location: 3rd Sun from the TwoRocks
Contact:

Re: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by TwoRox » Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:26 am

Oh, almost forgot... here's my "diary"of "building DAW perfect beast"... :wink: (cue Don Henley... 8) )

shonky
Forum Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Brighton
Contact:

Re: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by shonky » Fri Mar 13, 2015 6:55 am

Thanks for the response. Not sure if I can actually take these things back and change them as the guy just built them to the spec I asked based on what I (foolishly) believed would be workable components for a budget rig.

I supply further details here regarding I/Os, IRQs and sound devices (have edited it a bit as I'm not sure you require the rather epic lists that msinfo32 provides although can give them in full if required).

I/Os

I/O Port 0x000000E0-0x000000EF Motherboard resources
I/O Port 0x000000E0-0x000000EF Motherboard resources

I/O Port 0x00000088-0x00000088 Motherboard resources
I/O Port 0x00000088-0x00000088 Motherboard resources

I/O Port 0x00000072-0x0000007F Motherboard resources
I/O Port 0x00000072-0x0000007F Motherboard resources

I/O Port 0x00000000-0x0000000F Direct memory access controller
I/O Port 0x00000000-0x0000000F PCI bus
I/O Port 0x00000000-0x0000000F Motherboard resources

Memory Address 0xF0000000-0xF9FFFFFF PCI Express standard Root Port
Memory Address 0xF0000000-0xF9FFFFFF PCI bus
Memory Address 0xF0000000-0xF9FFFFFF NVIDIA GeForce 210

I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF PCI Express standard Root Port
I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF NVIDIA GeForce 210

I/O Port 0x00000090-0x0000009F Motherboard resources
I/O Port 0x00000090-0x0000009F Motherboard resources

I/O Port 0x00000084-0x00000086 Motherboard resources
I/O Port 0x00000084-0x00000086 Motherboard resources

I/O Port 0x000004D0-0x000004D1 Motherboard resources
I/O Port 0x000004D0-0x000004D1 Motherboard resources

I/O Port 0x0000E000-0x0000EFFF PCI Express standard Root Port
I/O Port 0x0000E000-0x0000EFFF NVIDIA GeForce 210

I/O Port 0x000000A2-0x000000BF Motherboard resources
I/O Port 0x000000A2-0x000000BF Motherboard resources

I/O Port 0x0000008C-0x0000008E Motherboard resources
I/O Port 0x0000008C-0x0000008E Motherboard resources

Memory Address 0xFE100000-0xFE1FFFFF PCI Express standard Root Port
Memory Address 0xFE100000-0xFE1FFFFF ASMedia XHCI 1.0 Controller

Memory Address 0xFED00000-0xFED003FF High precision event timer
Memory Address 0xFED00000-0xFED003FF Motherboard resources

Memory Address 0xFA100000-0xFA1FFFFF PCI Express standard Root Port
Memory Address 0xFA100000-0xFA1FFFFF Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller

Memory Address 0xFD000000-0xFE0FFFFF PCI Express standard Root Port
Memory Address 0xFD000000-0xFE0FFFFF NVIDIA GeForce 210

IRQ 17 Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
IRQ 17 Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller

I/O Port 0x00000010-0x0000001F Motherboard resources
I/O Port 0x00000010-0x0000001F Motherboard resources

IRQ 18 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
IRQ 18 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
IRQ 18 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
IRQ 18 NVIDIA GeForce 210

IRQ 19 High Definition Audio Controller
IRQ 19 AMD SATA Controller

Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF PCI Express standard Root Port
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF PCI bus
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF NVIDIA GeForce 210

Memory Address 0xFE200000-0xFE203FFF 1394 OHCI Compliant Host Controller
Memory Address 0xFE200000-0xFE203FFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge


Does seem to me that the PCIe and PCI seem to share memory addresses but not sure if this is of concern (the PCI-to-PCI bridge possibly more so).

IRQs

IRQ 0 System timer OK
IRQ 1 Standard PS/2 Keyboard OK
IRQ 4 Communications Port (COM1) OK
IRQ 8 System CMOS/real time clock OK
IRQ 13 Numeric data processor OK
IRQ 16 High Definition Audio Controller OK
IRQ 17 Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller OK
IRQ 17 Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller OK
IRQ 18 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller OK
IRQ 18 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller OK
IRQ 18 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller OK
IRQ 18 NVIDIA GeForce 210 OK
IRQ 19 High Definition Audio Controller OK
IRQ 19 AMD SATA Controller OK
IRQ 20 E-MU E-DSP OK
IRQ 21 1394 OHCI Compliant Host Controller OK
IRQ 81.........190 Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System OK

IRQ 4294967281 AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller OK
IRQ 4294967282 AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller OK
IRQ 4294967283 AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller OK
IRQ 4294967284 AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller OK
IRQ 4294967285 AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller OK
IRQ 4294967286 AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller OK
IRQ 4294967287 AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller OK
IRQ 4294967288 AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller OK
IRQ 4294967289 Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller OK
IRQ 4294967290 ASMedia XHCI 1.0 Controller OK
IRQ 4294967291 PCI Express standard Root Port OK
IRQ 4294967292 PCI Express standard Root Port OK
IRQ 4294967293 PCI Express standard Root Port OK
IRQ 4294967294 PCI Express standard Root Port OK


Sound devices (NVIDIA HD turned off but first time I noticed the MS HD device)

Sound Device
Name NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Manufacturer NVIDIA
Status Error
PNP Device ID HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10DE&DEV_000B&SUBSYS_10DE0101&REV_1002\5&18207675&0&0301
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\nvhda64v.sys (1.3.30.1, 192.78 KB (197,408 bytes), 20/02/2015 00:43)

Name High Definition Audio Device
Manufacturer Microsoft
Status OK
PNP Device ID HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0662&SUBSYS_18497662&REV_1001\4&1A93E0D7&0&0001
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\hdaudio.sys (6.1.7601.17514, 342.00 KB (350,208 bytes), 21/11/2010 03:23)

Name E-MU E-DSP Audio Processor (WDM)
Manufacturer Creative Technology, Ltd.
Status OK
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_1102&DEV_0004&SUBSYS_40011102&REV_03\4&38D01F93&0&28A4
I/O Port 0x0000C000-0x0000C01F
IRQ Channel IRQ 20
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\ctaud2k.sys (6.0.1.1246, 668.46 KB (684,504 bytes), 23/02/2010 19:48)

Name NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Manufacturer NVIDIA
Status Error
PNP Device ID HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10DE&DEV_000B&SUBSYS_10DE0101&REV_1002\5&18207675&0&0001
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\nvhda64v.sys (1.3.30.1, 192.78 KB (197,408 bytes), 20/02/2015 00:43)

Name NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Manufacturer NVIDIA
Status Error
PNP Device ID HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10DE&DEV_000B&SUBSYS_10DE0101&REV_1002\5&18207675&0&0101
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\nvhda64v.sys (1.3.30.1, 192.78 KB (197,408 bytes), 20/02/2015 00:43)

Name NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Manufacturer NVIDIA
Status Error
PNP Device ID HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10DE&DEV_000B&SUBSYS_10DE0101&REV_1002\5&18207675&0&0201
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\nvhda64v.sys (1.3.30.1, 192.78 KB (197,408 bytes), 20/02/2015 00:43)


Any more info, please ask, any help gratefully received

User avatar
TwoRox
Forum Genius
Forum Genius
Posts: 4364
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:13 am
Skype Handle: david.sundancer
Location: 3rd Sun from the TwoRocks
Contact:

Re: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by TwoRox » Fri Mar 13, 2015 7:19 am

shonky wrote:Not sure if I can actually take these things back and change them as the guy just built them to the spec I asked based on what I (foolishly) believed would be workable components for a budget rig.
Oh, I see, Shonky. :(

Well, it can't hurt to ask the guy whether returning the components (in exchange for others) is an option, right?

I'd do that first.

If that's not possible, "forcing your existing rig into submission" :wink: would indeed be the only option. :mrgreen:

That whole IRQ and I/O (and so forth) stuff is, however, not my area of expertise, or put another way: JMail can do that stuff "in his sleep", whereas I'd actually have to rack (not "wreck"! :lol: ) my brain.

As JMail's currently experiencing trouble with his internet connection (no connection, at all, or slower than ole dial-up... :shock: ) you may have to be patient for a few days until he's got a reliable connection again...
Last edited by TwoRox on Fri Mar 13, 2015 7:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TwoRox
Forum Genius
Forum Genius
Posts: 4364
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:13 am
Skype Handle: david.sundancer
Location: 3rd Sun from the TwoRocks
Contact:

Re: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by TwoRox » Fri Mar 13, 2015 7:22 am

Meanwhile, if you're bored, you can "hang out" with us "on" the "Veranda" where we are having a big party, celebrating JMail's upcoming 10,000th post, crowning him "King of the Universe", or something... :lol:

shonky
Forum Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Brighton
Contact:

Re: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by shonky » Fri Mar 13, 2015 9:02 pm

Seems the fix was surprisingly easy, and a good example of the effectiveness of Occam's Razor/ineffectiveness of my uncorrected vision.

It appears that I got the cabling confused and plugged the input into the output and vice versa hence why it was showing on the meters but not outputting any sound.

On the bad side I now feel like a complete tool

On the plus side, it appears I now have a fully functional system :D

User avatar
TwoRox
Forum Genius
Forum Genius
Posts: 4364
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:13 am
Skype Handle: david.sundancer
Location: 3rd Sun from the TwoRocks
Contact:

Re: Fixed: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by TwoRox » Fri Mar 13, 2015 9:12 pm

Yeah, that "razor thingie"... :doh

As I look back upon my life (cue Petshop Boys... :wink: ) I realize how much I still owe Mr. Occam and his blade... :mrgreen:

Definitely more than a few pints, that's fer sure!

Glad to hear you got things working.

Now go and produce some "awesomeness"! :D

shonky
Forum Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Brighton
Contact:

Re: Fixed: No sound from 1212 on Win 7 64 bit PC

Post by shonky » Fri Mar 13, 2015 9:20 pm

Pretty certain I owe Mr Occam a brewery or two by this stage in life.

At least nobody got to video my big bag of stoopid and post it on youtube.

Will do what I can on the awesomeness front and get back to you ;)

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests